Options

Cant decide ms path or cisco help.

I have been working at my current job for a little over 5 years and my daily job includes regular server work and some Cisco work (very light) . I am taking a new job (start the 16th) that was a slight position demotion but it was needed to get out of my dead end job/company. At the new place I will do 1/4 of the server administration I was doing and no Cisco anything. They said in 12 months if I work hard I could look at moving towards the server team or network team and it has thrown my plans off.

As of right now I have done mostly desktop support with 2000, xp, and 7 (about 7 years experience) but also for the past 5 years I have done daily server 2003 administration including new deployments, maintenance, updates, dns reorganization, and some exchange 03 work.

When I was in ECPI I took some cisco classes I really enjoyed it and was thinking of doing my ccna even got some routers and my goal was to start on the 2 part icnd 1&2 soon as I thought it would give me an edge as I do both at my current job.

Now moving to a new company that has separate departments I am not sure what to do I am thinking skip the ccna and go msca 2008 route or should I go ccna then msca? I am not sure the ccna would be that helpful as I am primarily based windows and not sure if I would want to go to a cisco only position. I enjoy it but not enough for daily work I think.

Any input?

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Sounds like you have real world experience using Windows 2003 server and you have a chance of getting into the system admin team with hard work and good performance. I would mirror my studies to align with the server technology in your place of employment.

It shows them you are serious about that technology and you seem interested in that technology as well. You obviously have some passion towards networking, but you don't have a real opportunity in that domain of IT.