Options

VCP Quest

Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
Just wanted to place a random status update on my VCP quest.

Background –
I have about 4 years of virtualization experience so I think that is helping a lot. I’d done the official basics courses for VI 3.5, 4.0 and now 5.0. Oh, and XenServer. I did the full Train Signal series on VCAP for vSphere 4. (not very good, but helpful) and have done a few minor App and desktop virtualization projects. I have also about a year of experience now in performance baselining for a major eCom.

Progress so far –
I recently retook the core VCP course at a community college and my job brought in a trainer for a few days. I just completed reading Mastering vSphere 5 book and started reading vSphere Design from Sybex.

Clearly my biggest weaknesses are in storage. I keep getting hung up on some terminology. Most of my experience in the SMB so normally I am using a basic iSCSI setup with nothing fancy. And since I started working for this eCom last year I have not given storage another thought.
Not that I don’t understand that good storage strategy is important. But I am shocked how much it’s contents are on here given the exam is on vSphere’s product. You would think they would leave all that to the storage company.

A few questions I am looking for general feedback on
1) What can I find good bulk questions (no ****!)?
2) How would you recommend getting more Fiber Channel experience? I really can’t out of pocket afford $5-$10,000 worth of NetApp classes and the job won’t pay for them and we don’t have a lab? Does NetApp or a competitor have Users groups or anything? Remote labs?
3) Am I over studying for the VCP at this point? I have heard the exam is esoteric and doesn’t actually map to their learning plans so I am nervous about this.

Anyhow, I was dreaming of completion on the VCP August. Is that reasonable based on the above? (I already have my voucher)
-Daniel

Comments

• Options