Soon-to-be college student looking for cert advice

ThePeonThePeon Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all, I recently found this website and was impressed by the membership. I am considering working towards getting certifications, and I am wondering if it is worth it for me.

Some background: I am a recent high-school graduate who is going to community college for a year or two for core classes before transferring to a four-year university (l could have gotten into any university in my state with my grades in high school (Colorado) but opted to go to CC first for personal reasons). I hope to pursue a degree in IT when I transfer to a university. So, I thought that it might be helpful if I pursue some certifications in IT in my spare time while at CC in order to hopefully get experience of any kind in IT before I get a bachelor's degree.

My only real experience in IT besides frequent ordinary computer use (gaming, word processing, internet browsing, etc) is building my own gaming PC a few weeks ago.

I do not have much depth of knowledge of computers (though probably more than your average 18 year-old), but because I use them so frequently, and have from a very young age, I am a relatively quick learner.

I do not know exactly what I want to do in IT, but I figure that some basic certification could prove useful (either the knowledge gained, or even the piece of paper itself when job hunting), even on the off chance I don't major in something IT related.

I have been looking at the CompTIA A+ certification to start, as it seems fairly general. Should I be looking at other certificates instead? Is it worth my time (the cost will likely not an be issue) to pursue any certs at all? I have not done extensive research into IT certification, so any advice is welcome.

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□