Options

Starting with 70-640

piraderpirader Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

i'm new to the world of certificates, but i just got confirmation from my boss that i can follow as many microsoft certificates as i want to do icon_cheers.gif

I'm thinking of starting with the MCITP w2008: SA and continue from there on.

I'm planning on using the guide from CBT Nuggets, got the microsoft press MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit for my exams and the cybex books comming my way this week. icon_cheers.gif

Basically i'm looking for advice on what client OS to use for my labbing.icon_redface.gif
Windows XP or Windows 7.

Also how much time did you guys spend learning all of the courses for the MCITP w2008 SA certificate?

Kind regards,

Pirader

Comments

• Options
    kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I would use Windows 7. As more time goes on XP will become less and less relevant as companies are switching from XP to 7. Also check out this site itfreetraining.com as another study resource. Its free videos and may help in some area where the others missed.
  • Options
    LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would go with Windows 7 Professional or above. XP is going by the wayside as far as certifications are concerned, and with Windows 7 Pro or above, you can use it with RSAT and other tools in your labs.
    Degree: Liberty University - B.S Computer Science (In Progress)
    Current Certs: CCENT | MCTS | Network+
    Currently Working On: Security+
    2020 Goals: CCNA, CCNP Security, Linux+

• Options
    Allright thanks for the info!

I just finished lesson 1 from the sybex book and it's looking really good. the book's keeping me interessted and has a nice way of bringing the lessons to you.

How much do you guys study every week?
    I'm planning on doing 2-3 hours a night on week days and maybe 4 hours per day during the weekends.

I'm hoping to be able to complete this first certificate by the end of this year.