Options

Newbie to exams, looking for advise on company progression

jogonjogon Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm hoping someone can guide me in the right direction.

I've been working on a Tier 1 / Service Desk role for just over 2 years now for a large Manged Hosting company, and I'm really wanting to progress on the Windows side of things.

I started studying for the 70-640, but I stopped due to home issues. From September I'll be free and ready to study to get my first exam behind my belt!

The thing is, the Tier 2 role that is the next step on progression does not include hardly any AD troubleshooting, so I do not think it will be beneficial for me in the short term to complete this, would you recommend me going straight into the 70-646? As from reading into this, it seems this will suit the job role further, but I've read that you should really do 640/642 first. (Or any other exam you would think that would be good to start with?)
I'm not sure what everyone else thinks, but it seems to me on 2008 the learning structure is not very newbie friendly compared to the 2012 set up (MCSA: Windows Server 2012 Certification).
I really like that they have an exam for Installing Configuring > Admin > Advanced.

At current I do very very basic server tasks, but I do have a good understanding how most of the systems work and I own a HP MicroServer which I've been playing round with ESXi on.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Lucas21Lucas21 Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I can't give you much advice since I'm also studying for the 70-640. But what I just found out after clicking the link in your post is that if I did get MCITP:SA in the next few months, I won't be able to upgrade. That's quite surprising to me given many other certifications are upgradable.
  • Options
    xbuzzxbuzz Member Posts: 122
    Lucas21 wrote: »