Options

Preparing for Foreign Work

powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hey all,

I have mentioned this before in a few threads, but I am looking to eventually move to a foreign country in Europe (Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, or the Netherlands in descending order of preference) for a few years for work and relative cheap vacationing. The big cost with vacationing overseas, whether that is in Europe or somewhere like Thailand is the travel expenses... I figure that if I am already over there, that makes it great for multiple extended weekends that are a relatively short ride away. I want to visit these places, and others, and learn more culturally and do some in-depth genealogy research on-site.

In any event, I am trying to prepare myself for the possibility, as I would like to begin this in a few years from now. Linguistically, I am a bit of geek, as I read about European languages (from a language evolution standpoint) and I studied French for six years between middle and high school. I have been learning German on my own for the past few years and I have also done comparisons between German, Dutch, and Norwegian. With that being said, I am probably better at listening to Spanish (just because I have been around more of it than anything else), followed by German.

Now, I figure there are two ways to get to work over there.

1) Government contracting: this is probably the path of least resistance as I would be working with other Americans and would not have to rely on a second language as much or worry about a work visa. I already do this, so I am already cleared.

2) Work with a recruiter and get a job the old fashioned way: I would have to be able to speak the language fluently, get a work visa, be competing against local talent and culture, and also have to contend with workforce culture (regulatory and such).