Options

A little inspiration/advice for everyone trying to get in/advance in IT *rant/long*

MiikeBMiikeB Member Posts: 301
Just wanted to let everyone know that if you work hard you CAN make it happen.

6 years ago I was 18 years old and just getting out of a program of a live in program for kids with behavioral issues that I had spent the last 3 years at. I had my GED.

Now I have my Bachelors degree and several certifications. I am starting my masters program next month. I have experience that gets me calls and emails from recruiters weekly with six figure salaries. I am currently awaiting an offer letter from a company for a position that pays almost a quarter million a year in Afghanistan. I turn 25 in 2 months.

I am not saying any of this to brag, I am saying it because I keep seeing threads saying "How do I find a job" or "What path should I take in IT" or "Whats the best way to get in to IT".

Just do it. If you aren't in IT right now then grab a couple microsoft certs or a CCNA and go work at a helpdesk. Keep studying, in a year, apply for a sys/net admin job. Stop looking for ways to skip the helpdesk/technician roles and just get through it. If you are smart and have a good work and study ethic you will advance quickly.

If you don't know what path you want to take in IT read up on a couple and then choose one. They all pay way more than you ever need if you are really good at them so don't worry about what other people think the path is, choose your own. Security, VMWare, Cisco, Microsoft all have high paying positions and all have helpdesk techs, so no matter which path you take your skills and knowledge will determine how far you can go.