Im a certified NEWBIE on here all together..

Blackpower_357Blackpower_357 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey IT Professionals and soon to be..... Im super new to the forums thing and i ran across this site and it looks very well assembled and it looks like a very good place to start my path further into what i like to call the "IT World". I was recently let go from a reputable cable company that has internet support. I've been battle with myself when should i go for my certs like everyone around me was going for. Im no stranger to the IT world, i have a BS in Computer Information Systems but i realized that degree is just not enough. I need MASSIVE help from you guys. I know some people can relate to where im coming from. Im on a mission to prove to a lot of folks that didnt believe i can make it and get ahead in this field. I just need some suggestions with some materials to pick up. And remember im starting from scratch.. I have NOTHING. icon_redface.gif

I need all the help i can get. Please all comments would be great!!

Comments

• MickQMickQ Member Posts: 628 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I hate to state the obvious here, but get certified in whatever fields you like working in, and have experience in.

I'm sure others closer to where you're living will be able to give you a better idea of what's best for the job market in your area.
  • IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    I would recommend figuring out what you like. Since you're starting from scratch, it might take a few tries before you find out what you really love. A lot of people on here like starting out with the CompTIAs. If you have any knowledge of what topics fascinate you (or you'd like to learn more about) then I would recommend jumping in whether it be Microsoft, Cisco, virtualization, Linux.

What drew you to technology? What about it makes you feel passionate or driven?
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • MstavridisMstavridis Member Posts: 107