Options

Packet Tracer Problem

Tim147Tim147 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am from Malta and I am currently studying for my degree in Computer Networks. In a current module we started using Packet Tracer. I would like to know if you heard about any faults that it may have; such as an ACL will be set up on a router to deny packet but packets still pass through.

I would greatly appreciate a reply and thank you in advance.

Comments

• Options
    spiderjerichospiderjericho Registered Users, Member Posts: 890 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Packet Tracer isn't perfect. It is a network simulator, so commands, actions, behavior have to be built into versus an emulator like GNS3 or IOU.

It could be possible that it's an unsupported command or not a properly developed behavior. Or it could be an ACL sequencing issue. You'd have to provide more info.
  • Options
    Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Packet tracer has its limitations. It's good for ccna level but many ccnp level commands do not function.
  • Options
    Vik210Vik210 Member Posts: 197
    I think GNS3 is the the best option (at least for route exam) after real equipments for CCNP leave studies..
  • Options
    MrXpertMrXpert Member Posts: 586 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Tim147 wrote: »
    Hi,

I am from Malta and I am currently studying for my degree in Computer Networks. In a current module we started using Packet Tracer. I would like to know if you heard about any faults that it may have; such as an ACL will be set up on a router to deny packet but packets still pass through.

I would greatly appreciate a reply and thank you in advance.

I have never encountered any issues using PT with ACLs but that does not mean errors can still occur.
    What type of packets are you trying to permit/deny, where are you applying the ACL and is it an extended or standard?
    Are you getting hits on the ACL?