Options

First Networking Job! 2 Months after WGU graduation

swildswild Member Posts: 828
I'm so excited to finally be moving out of general break/fix IT and into ANY OTHER SPECIALIZATION. I have five and a half years of general IT and am so sick of it.

While networking is technically my 2nd choice(after Security), just having the experience to put on a resume is worth whatever they can throw at me.

I know that they are looking to fill 4 more networking positions. I wouldn't call this entry-level, but all I have as far as networking goes is a CCNA and CCNA:Sec. If anyone is in Arkansas and is looking, send me a PM and I will get you the info. This is not a place to move to just to get in to networking, but if you know your stuff and are desperate for a job let me know.

This is the first in-person interview that I have had since I graduated from WGU in June and was offered the job after a 30 minute interview. If I can just get in the door, I can make an impression.

My plan is to do this for 3 to 6 months, get my CCNP, and then move out of this accursed state.

Comments

• Options
    Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Congrats!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    Great. I would stay at least a year. Its going to take you 3 months to get your head in the game about what goes on there. The move from break/fix to engineering can be a challenge as your not going to be on the CLI 99 percent of the time. You will have to learn how to write, make visio's, understand licencing and so on. So I would work on the CCNP, but also think about the things I mentioned.
    Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□