Options

How Long Were You in IT Support?

2»

Comments

• Options
    davidboydavidboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I have been doing IT support for my university for nearly 6 months now. By the time I graduate and am let go from the job, it will be 14 months of IT support. I hope this experience along with my BS in MIS will get me a better position.
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Off and on my whole career.

Now I am not supporting but designing and transitioning a service, but anytime I am involved with operations and execution I always get put into support.

My goal is to always work projects and service transitions. They usually take 1-2 years and right when operations hit I am out. Of course I set those expectations prior to leaving.
  • Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    davidboy wrote: »
    I have been doing IT support for my university for nearly 6 months now. By the time I graduate and am let go from the job, it will be 14 months of IT support. I hope this experience along with my BS in MIS will get me a better position.

What kind of skill set do you have above the support level? Regardless of your experience if you don't have the knowledge to step into a better position you will likely have trouble doing so.
  • Options
    davidboydavidboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Akaricloud wrote: »
    What kind of skill set do you have above the support level? Regardless of your experience if you don't have the knowledge to step into a better position you will likely have trouble doing so.
    It's basically tier 1 support. I mainly do desktop deployment with WDS but I do a lot of the troubleshooting work. Nothing advanced really.
  • Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    6 months
    although some of my Sys Admin work do Include support (Our IT DPT consist of Network and SysAdmin only, no support so we do that too)
    So maybe around a year?