Strategy for passing VCP5

steve_fsteve_f Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi

I have been given budget approval to go on the 5 day ICM course for vSphere 5.
I have 2 years experience in using Vsphere (Daily, I support a 24\7 HA cluster with 10 hosts, >150 VMs, >50 VLANS) and 4 years general windows sysadmin\networking experience.

I'm trying to come up with a strategy to make the most of the course, this is what I have planned:
Book the course now for early December. This gives me 3 months to read some books, blogs, articles, go through the training videos, lab as much of it as I can.
When I go on the course I will already be familiar with the material, allowing me to concentrate on the bits that i'm finding tricky to understand or difficult to create in a home lab.
Then I would give myself a week of intense study after the course, then take the exam.

What do you thinkof this strategy? I need to book the course quickly before the budget manager changes their mind :D

Comments

• pumbaa_gpumbaa_g Member Posts: 353
    I have the same strategy in mind :D I picked up the offer during VMWorld week for 50% off on exam fees and booked VCP5 on 29th November. Currently going through the Video Trainings from Trainsignal & CBT. I have pre-ordered the Mastering VSphere 5 by Scott Lowe which I should be getting in mid September for reference.
    I want to do the training before the exam but still working out the cost etc as I am paying for this out of my pocket. My last exam which was Server Virtualization for Windows 2008 R2 I found my weak areas to be HA & DRS which I intend to brush up on before giving this exam.
    Any pointers or tips will be welcome.
    [h=1]“An expert is one who knows more and more about less and less until he knows absolutely everything about nothing.” [/h]
  • jmritenourjmritenour Member Posts: 565