Options

Am I underpaid (and passed my CCNA today!!!)

AnotherITGuyAnotherITGuy Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone, new to the forum, been lurking for a while.

Have a B.S in IT (along with an associates degree in networking earned at the same time), approx 7 years of experience and just passed the ICND2 today (have the ccent and ccna).icon_cheers.gif Also one test away from my MCITP:EA (along with the MCSE/MCSA 2003 certs I earned a while back).

My first love is networking, I currently work as a IT consultant at a firm with roughly 40 employees. I'm one of two network engineers (the other 8 techs being server administrators...the other 20 are applications consultants and the rest are support staff) Back in 2009 I was laid off as a network administrator and took a pay cut to 45k a year (from 52) at my current job. Currently I'm at 48k and feel woefully underpaid.

Passing my CCNA today I decided to find out if its just me throwing a pity party or if I really am underpaid. What do you think, is 48k reasonable for someone with 7yrs experience, a BS, MCSE, CCNA or am I being underpaid?

Comments

• Options
    JackaceJackace Member Posts: 335
    It will depend on what you do and where you do it. What type of network(s) do you support? Where do you live?

I don't have an answer for you really, but I have seen a few of these threads here and those are the 2 big questions people ask to give ballpark numbers.
  • Options
    webgeekwebgeek Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Location, Location, Location

Also what type of networks you support

Have tried looking what your current job market is paying?
    BS in IT: Information Assurance and Security (Capella) CISSP, GIAC GSEC, Net+, A+
  • Options
    Live near Minneapolis (about an hour away) and support customers from 2 users up to about 200 (the tech side of our consulting firm supports the small to mid size firms.....our application consultants support small to large ...500+ user firms).