Options

MCP Career Advice :s

SyySyy Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

Ive been a stealth member for a short while checking of the wealth of information available here (great site) :)

So im coming to the point in my career where i want to take the next steps but im unsure what direction to take.I know ultimately its my decision but im hoping you guys may be able to help clear the air a little for me :)

Ok so a little about me, im 29 i work in Desktop Support for a large Pharma company supporting over 700 users.I have a little over 4 years experience and a CompTIA A+ to my name (although studied it ages ago now).

Ok so here i my dillema, in short i would like to study a course that will offer me the most value in terms of my career, open up more doors for me,increase my earning potential and generally make me more appealing to an employer..

Windows Server 2012 is very appealing as it looks like it brings alot to the table in terms of virtulization and cloud computing which are both buzz words in the industry at the moment,however i do not have any server knowledge so i would be starting from scratch and it looks as if there is very little study material out there at the moment...

Another interest for me is SharePoint 2010.I work with it daily. I administer multiple site collections as a power user and develop custom solutions and workflows for our department.I am keen to learn more about the platform.however again I am unsure what i need to do to take that interest to the next level?

Could i study for the ms exam? or would i need to have the underlying server knowledge before i go ahead with the SharePoint exam? and if did need the server knowledge can anybody advise what course i should study before hand?