Options

How I prepared for ICND1/2 (another zero to CCNA)

mapletunemapletune Member Posts: 316
Just wanted to share my experience going from "zero to CCNA"

So, I'm actually a college dropout. That by itself doesn't mean anything. More worrying is that I didn't really know what I wanted to do. So I thought about it. Since I've been around computers practically my whole life, I asked some of my classmates for advice and the letters "CCNA" came into the equation. At first I just wanted to continue something long enough, be responsible enough, to learn something and be able to work in that industry; be economically independent. But after studying for a while and passing ICND1, I figured this is what I want to do as a career.

So.. I have no prior experience with networking, didn't know the difference between a hub and a switch, but here's what I used:

ICND1:
- CBT Nuggets by Jeremy Ciora
- Train Signal by Chris Bryant
- CCENT for Dummies
- CCENT ExamCram

Lab1: 2611, 2514, 2950

ICND2:
- CBT Nuggets by Jeremy Ciora
- Train Signal by Chris Bryant
- INE by Brian McGahan (free online streaming)
- Cisco Press ICND2 by Wendell Odom
- Cisco Press CCNA Portable Command Guide by Scott Empson
- CCNA by Todd Lammle
- CCNA for Dummies

Lab2: 1721, 2611, 2514, three 2950

since i had never taken an exam before, and life was in the way, it took me 4 months before attempting icnd1. i spent another 1.5 month and a week off work right before the icnd2 exam.

Lammle vs Odom vs others