Options

CCNA Exam

bdthomas02bdthomas02 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have over ten years experience working with computers but I do not have any experience working with networking. I want to take the CCNA exam but I need some guidance on where to begin, which books and materials required for study, etc. Can someone out there offer me some advice and directions on how to pursue this path? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,

bdthomas02

Comments

• Options
    dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Read the CCNA faq sticky at the top of the board.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • Options
    FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • Options
    I do not see the faq at the top of the board. I have not been on this board in a very long time.
  • Options
    I have Todd L. 640-802 book. Should I use this book and purchase some other books as well?
  • Options
    FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Did you completely disregard the link I gave you? That thread will answer any questions you may have.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    My advice would be to start with the books by Odom and start building a lab.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    MrBrianMrBrian Member Posts: 520
    I used Lammle, the Odom icnd1/2 books, and packet tracer for my CCNA.
    Currently reading: Internet Routing Architectures by Halabi
  • Options
    IllumanatiIllumanati Banned Posts: 211 ■□□□□□□□□□
    bdthomas02 wrote: »
    I have over ten years experience working with computers but I do not have any experience working with networking. I want to take the CCNA exam but I need some guidance on where to begin, which books and materials required for study, etc. Can someone out there offer me some advice and directions on how to pursue this path? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,

bdthomas02