Options

Struggling with mctip sa

I am using the ms press 2nd edition books and trainsignal - watched trainsignal and really enjoyed it and felt I learnt lots. Going through ms press 640 R2 book and struggling - some chapters are v good, for example group policy - liked it understood it. Onto DNS a subject which I think I know a bit about but I am reading a page and forgetting what I have just read/ not understanding it - has anyone else had this problem? Getting a bit stressed

Comments

• Options
    LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yes, especially in topics I have no experience i, such as AD-CS, AD-FS, AD_RMS, Trusts, etc. The thing that seemed to help the most is doing the labs over and over. That helps me see what I am trying to remember actually being applied. Also, I highly recommend looking in Technet to help fill the void. What I do is I do a Google search and add Technet to the search, such as DNS Technet, or 70-640 DNS Technet. The Technet library is extremely helpful for filling in the gaps and to help me understand items that the book is weak in.

Good luck!
    Degree: Liberty University - B.S Computer Science (In Progress)
    Current Certs: CCENT | MCTS | Network+
    Currently Working On: Security+
    2020 Goals: CCNA, CCNP Security, Linux+

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    At some point all of us hit some roadblock where things just refuse to enter our brain. What I normally do is take a break and focus on something else. Once my frustration goes away I look for alternate resources. I always find some article or blog written from the man on the ground that definitely clicks and makes sense. It happened recently during my Lync deployment. Even after attending training and watching all kinds of videos some components didn't make any sense. It was only after a going through a few blogs that I was able to fill in the gaps.
  • Options
    PishofPishof Member Posts: 193