Options

Anyone here using a Citrix XenServer home lab?

gunbunnysouljagunbunnysoulja Member Posts: 353
Just curious if many here have played around with Citrix XenServer. I'm still a Citrix noob, but so far I find Citrix to be very impressive. I have a cheap build setup that cost <$200 (Celeron processor, 8GB ram). Using XenServer 5.6SP2, I have no HCL compatibility issues (biggest worry was onboard NIC).

I still need to setup an Access Gateway, but for now, remote access is being accessed over VPN.

I have XenDesktop and XenApp setup. Both work incredibly well, even over 3G/VPN. I don't fully understand why, but they actually work a LOT better over Web Access vs. Console of XenServer. My instances of Server2008 or Windows 7 are VERY fast VM's, currently using 1GB ram each. I was surprised even over 3G they fly. Definitely not what I'm use to from using VMWare or VirtualBox on top of Windows 7.

Right now my Active XenServer consists of:

Server2008R2 Desktop Delivery Controller for XenDesktop
Server2008R2 Domain Controller
Server2008R2 XenApp 6 evaluation .vhd
Windows 7 VM
Windows XP VM

I also have a couple CIFS ISO libraries. I have a bunch more VM's but not all are active at once.

I have NetScaler Virtual Appliance for the Secure Gateway but I'm still configuring certificates. It uses 2GB ram so I do need to get more ram as the above environment uses 5.7GB total of my 8GB XenServer. I want to have a little more headroom. I could have more Active VM's if I lower ram amounts but I haven't compared results yet as everything works great with 1GB each.

I'm surprised how easy it was to get all of this working so far. Citrix has some great tutorials on YouTube. Still got a ton more to learn, but I'm really enjoying Citirx. I also really like Citrix Receiver for iPhone. Works great!
WGU BSITStart Date: July 1, 2013
In Progress: CJV1 (4 CU)