Options

Bit of advice slightly off topic

and36yand36y Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for RS CCIE, I have my own lab, bought the INE workbook 1 and now I'm in the market for a new laptop, I'll buy it through my company and ideally would like to bu a Mac Pro.. Now the the question is, do any of you use a mac as your main study computer? Are there any restrictions in doing so. Would I be better served by just buying a nasty windoze laptop instead?

Any advise guys.. I took your advise on getting an iPad over a kindle.... Fantastic choice.....

Andy
Studying CCIE R&S

Written passed, looking at lab towards end of 2013

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I use Linux on my personal laptop for all my study. I don't think there is anything you'd be missing out on by going Mac.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    I use a mac as my main study tool. I use the free ITerm for the majority of my IT task and use Securecrt for things that require a console. It works fine with all the INE stuff. The included notepad is good enough, but you can use text wrangler or jedit if you need a better editor. I use the built in FTP for file transfer and I do have vmware for when it doesn't work.
    Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related
  • Options
    gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I use Windows/Linux but can't see why you'd go wrong with a Mac.

They are all nice.
  • Options
    rakemrakem Member Posts: 800
    For the guys with Mac books - what 'USB to RS-232' adapter do you use to connect to the console ports of your Cisco devices?
    CCIE# 38186
    showroute.net
  • Options
    PlazmaPlazma Member Posts: 503
    I got a trendnet one and then one from monoprice for like $7 .. works fine across all platforms.
    CCIE - COMPLETED!