Options

Pretty Useless Exam Alright

scraig4195scraig4195 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm about 2 months in to a 12-month Network Engineer Diploma program at the #1 career / technical college here in Canada, which includes A+, Net+, Linux+, Security+, MCSE, CCNA Certification tracks. I have 12 years of business experience including the last 5 in IT or IT-related roles. I have done everything except manage a network, completed the A+ courses with a 95% average and felt I had aced both certification exams as well.

Both times I was given a report with missing the pass mark by 7 points. I doubt I will be taking the Net+ CompTIA exam, I'll spend the vouchers I have on Microsoft Exams thank you very much. Now I know why everyone in the IT Consulting business think CompTIA is a joke!! It is.

I also got 100% on my OS Final and 86% on my Hardware Final in the course. Useless once I get my MCSE, CCNA anyway.

Comments

• Options
    jmc724jmc724 Member Posts: 415
    CompTIA exams are ENTRY-LEVEL certs, someone with your expeince should not take those exams unless you just want the certs.

IMO its not a joke, for the inexperience guys and gals, they are so happy and proud to accomplish such a cert. They put in a lot to get a passing score and are poud to say they are certified.

Using a bridge(one step at a time) to cross a river is a greater achievement than to jump across the river...

2.5 pesos
    What next?
  • Options
    qsubqsub Member Posts: 303
    So let me get this straight?

You're mad because you failed.

I'm assuming you only read one book which is the book your professor/instructor recommended you. I'm enrolled in a Computer Systems Technology Course (Network Administration with a third year focusing in wireless security) in Toronto.