Options

Sugestion for career choice

pgchelseapgchelsea Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
hii guys,I am new to this forum...

I'm a student of b.Tech 2nd year, Information Technology in Kolkata,India.
I am really really interested in internet security and wish to become an Internet Security Manager someday...I'm still very young thought(19 :P)
Anyways this is the time when we apply for coaching classes for MBA and stuff...so I was wondering if I wish to have a career in internet security what will be my best option??
MBA ( IT ) or M.tech and then some security courses...
I have read about this CISSP exam...I don't have much idea though...any suggestions would be very useful...

Thank you :D

Comments

• Options
    CISPhDCISPhD Member Posts: 114
    Welcome to TE, pgchelsea. icon_lol.gif

If you're focused specifically on security, be prepared for what is called a "dynamic" career. That is to say, like most careers in IT, that you are committing to a life long career of learning. Hope you're ready? :) Take the following feedback for what it's worth, and take heart in knowing that only a few years ago, I was right where you are now. It's possible to accelerate quickly in this field, but you have to be dedicated to your work for the better side of a decade to get there.

With regards to higher education, again focusing on information security, my personal experiences would push you towards a technical graduate degree such as a MSc in IS management. There are several routes you can take here, but if you're focused on technical based management, an MBA may not be the best approach. I personally pursued both an MBA and MISM degree, but I would say that is certainly above and beyond and speaks to my sycophantic obsession with being an over achiever. Furthermore, I took it a step further in pursuing a PhD in Computer and Information Security. Giving myself that much more of an edge when I'm shooting for those EVP and CSO roles sometime around 2015/2020.