microsoft questions/advice

monorionmonorion Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I currently am seeking advice due to the fact that i have no idea where to start, as far as my education goes i graduated from Lincoln Tech and i have my Net+, i am currently working doing application support but its not for me, i am not learning anything when it comes to troubleshooting PCs, servers, networking, etc. my overall question is where do I start? my ultimate goal for now like everyone is to be a network admin. I am thinking of taking windows 7 exam and try to look for a job that is IT help desk, is windows 7 exam still good to have? i saw on microsoft that its discontinued July 2013. the reason i need advice is becasue i am unhappy at my current position and need a fast change.

Thank you for eveyones help and advice in advance

Comments

• CISPhDCISPhD Member Posts: 114
    monorion wrote: »
    ... my ultimate goal for now like everyone is to be a network admin.

I think you mean desktop admin... Keeping in mind there is a difference between Desktop admin, Server admin, and Network admin. If you're interested in desktop admin, the Windows 7 exam is still very valid... Many organizations won't exactly be climbing over each other to move to Windows 8. Most offices are still trying to get off Windows XP before EOL. I'd also encourage you to take the CompTIA foundation certs, such as A+, Sec+, etc... It shows you have a very solid foundation. You may also consider the Microsoft Office cert series.

Provide us with some additional feedback on your 1, 2, and 5 year goals and we can provide some more exact advice. :)
  • monorionmonorion Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you for your advice, quick question for you. do you know if the MTA exams are good to have? i was thinking if i can get all of them it would look good and help me for further MS exams.

Thank you
  • olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□