Did you know?

rob1234rob1234 Banned Posts: 151
That ISC2 do not recommend someone holds both the SSCP and CISSP?

" Please note that we don’t normally suggest that someone has both the SSCP and CISSP certifications, as they are related to quite different career paths."

Comments

• emerald_octaneemerald_octane Member Posts: 613
    lol oops.

I thought the SSCP curricula was just a subset of the CISSP though? Admittedly I havn't looked at it.

I guess they want to really separate the certs in terms of managerial and practice.
  • TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Unfortunately, the job market doesn't think so. I see more and more technical security jobs asking for CISSP and not SSCP.
  • dbrinkdbrink Member Posts: 180
    Interesting, I thought the SSCP was a stepping stone towards a CISSP. I have about 12 years of systems administration experience and looking to move towards IT security so I was planning on a Security+ -> SSCP -> CISSP path over the next year or so. Might have to re-evaluate that.
    Currently Reading: Learn Python The Hard Way
    http://defendyoursystems.blogspot.com/
  • PaperlanternPaperlantern Member Posts: 352
    dbrink wrote: »
    Interesting, I thought the SSCP was a stepping stone towards a CISSP. I have about 12 years of systems administration experience and looking to move towards IT security so I was planning on a Security+ -> SSCP -> CISSP path over the next year or so. Might have to re-evaluate that.

You could Sec+ -> CASP -> CISSP maybe.

I've considered CASP as well since it is a little more technical than CISSP (or so I've heard), thus having both could demonstrate that you are a competent manager with a technical pool of expertise. I've also swayed back and froth between CASP and just forgoing CASP and going for a CISSP Concentration.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Can you supply a link to that? I would need to see it in context to make a proper comment.