Options

SUSE (SLES) vs RedHat (RHEL)

Chivalry1Chivalry1 Member Posts: 569
Let me first start out by stating that I am a HUGE SUSE Linux fan!! I have been using there server platform for more 10 years now.

SUSE has always had superior support and an outstanding product development team. The instances where I had to place a call with RedHat, if I was not calling from a government agency I can expect poor/little technical support. Installation of software Oracle/MySql etc., seemed to be a breeze. The SUSE administrative tools that are offer by SUSE seem to be far superior to RedHat (WebYast, AutoYast, Yast2). Although I work with both OS platforms i much more prefer SLES. Just wanted to get the tech communities opinion.
"The recipe for perpetual ignorance is: be satisfied with your opinions and
content with your knowledge. " Elbert Hubbard (1856 - 1915)

Comments

• Options
    demonfurbiedemonfurbie Member Posts: 1,819
    it all depends on where you are, in the states redhat is used more than suse, its the exact opposite in europe

personally i prefer debain based systems
    wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!
    WGU MS IT Management: done ... double woot :cheers:
  • Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    personally i prefer debain based systems

I dig Debian-based systems (especially Mint), but the most stable end-user distro I've run into yet was probably OpenSUSE.
    Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.
    --Will Rogers
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    I'm in a Novell/SLES/SLED shop and I enjoy it as a linux OS. I've played around with other OS's but not near as much as I have with SUSE so I don't have much for comparison...
  • Options
    log32log32 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 217
    SLES is definitely more familiar in europe/asia than in the US, but RHEL (versions 4.x/5.x/6.x) in my company & for me.
  • Options
    ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□