Options

2 weeks into new gig!

EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
Didn't post up the day I got the offer, but it's been 2 weeks into a new role. I had been looking for a new role for about a year, did manage to land 3 interviews and I reckon I did well in all of them but someone edged me out each time. Then this one came along for a large cloud services provider and wasn't going to let this one go past too. After 2 rounds of interviews and an informal meeting with HR, I was offered the position.

I cracked the 6 figure mark with this role, I had been targeting to get to 6 figures by age 30 and went past the mark by more than a few grand!!. Other pluses are discounted health insurance, paid training/certs and full education reimbursement. No more end-user support, no more freaking service requests (something I had been doing for over 5 years in some shape or form).

Really excited about the role, everything I could ask for. Get to work on designing and putting in a new cloud for the company. Working on System Center 2012, Windows Server 2012, Hyper-v 2012 and HP 3PAR SAN. There's a decent size vSphere infrastructure (about 50 hosts and 600 or so VM's) already in place for managed services, get to tune and work on it. Working on a design for moving 4 large clients from HP Data Protector to Commvault Simpana 9. Happy days! And busy ones at that!

To everyone on here who are starting out or struggling with work/low pay. Keep at it folks and your time will come. Never quit, never say "O this is too hard, I cant do this" or "I want a new career, IT doesn't pay well". You need to put in the time, NO ONE will hand you the keys of their network infrastructure or their vSphere or Storage setup if you haven't put in the years. You'll need to work hard to get to your goals. Have a goal or two, strive to get at least 2 certs a year. If you've put in more than a year or so in Helpdesk, move on. Keep moving forward.