Options

How much salary should I ask for?

drew726drew726 Member Posts: 237
I've been working in NOC's for 3 1/2 years and had a "system admin" title for about 6 months. I'm going into a third interview with a mobile gaming company as a linux sysadmin. I think I'm all done with the technical questions as this interview is only going to be with the executives. I live in the bay area and currently make 60k. How much should my salary expectation be when they ask me how much I want?
Completed Courses:
SSC1, SST1, AXV1, TTV1, ABV1, TNV1, AHV1, BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, LUT1, GAC1, IWC1, INC1, HHT1, LAT1, QLT1, CLC1, IWT1 TPV1, INT1, TSV1, LET1, BOV1, AJV1, ORC1, MGC1, BRV1, AIV1, WFV1,
TWA1, CPW2
Incompleted Courses:
nothing :)

Comments

• Options
    PhildoBagginsPhildoBaggins Member Posts: 276
    EleventyBillion ... look at similar jobs in your area and see if you can find salary rates. $60k-70k territory sounds about right for a bigger city.
  • Options
    Yeah I've always heard people say ask for more than what you really want but I feel like they'll wouldnt give me an offer if I asked for 80...I really want 70-75.
    Completed Courses:
    SSC1, SST1, AXV1, TTV1, ABV1, TNV1, AHV1, BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, LUT1, GAC1, IWC1, INC1, HHT1, LAT1, QLT1, CLC1, IWT1 TPV1, INT1, TSV1, LET1, BOV1, AJV1, ORC1, MGC1, BRV1, AIV1, WFV1,
    TWA1, CPW2
    Incompleted Courses:
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    You can ask for anything, but as PhildoBaggins said, make sure you do your homework and determine what similar position are offering in your area. If you are low balled an are really interested in the position you can present your case for more $$$ and show hard evidence.
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    someone recently told me that when you switch jobs, to look for 10-15% increase.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□