Options

progression conumdrum

JCGeeJCGee Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I currently work as a helpdesk/field tech [L1/L2] but have pretty much hit my limit as far as advancement will go in my company. I am looking to get into system administration, but it is not possible to gain any server experience in my department.
I recently put out some feelers and received a number of calls but most seem to fall flat.

So I come as ask those that made the jump, somehow, from HD/Desktop support to server/system admin, on how you did it. How do I get into systems/server admin when even 'entry/junior' level positions are requiring 2-3 years of server experience?
Currently studying towards the MCITP: SA, figuring that at least on interviews, I can show some ambition, but completely understand that having a 'home network/server' is a far cry from implementing and administering one in an enterprise environment.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The Orthodox way to progress would be L1 -> L2 (Desktop Support) -> L3 (System Administration), doing it this way puts you in a position to start taking on some L3 responsibility while still in a L2 job. Does your current org not have a L3? Is it outsourced or something?

Personally I went from L1 -> L3, But i knew some really good people where I worked and they knew my skills. Also, a "Home" setup really isn't a far cry if it's setup well. I know some people who have home setups that would put some organisations to shame :)
  • Options
    About7NarwhalAbout7Narwhal Member Posts: 761