Options

Breaking into SQL 2008

WonTonDonWonTonDon Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys

I've been working as a Service Analyst for the past 4 years and looking to break into SQL. Coming from an IT Support Level 1 Level2 background with little or no exposure to SQL, how easy is it to pick up and also, is it advisable to dive straight into the MS Press books, CBT Nuggets, or should I do some additional reading to gain a grasp of how databases work before getting into the modules?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    Do you have any studies on any scripting or programming?
    I think if you have any experience in anything that requires logical commands you will pick up SQL pretty fast

Im not a DBA or anything like that, but I Do work with MySQL and SQL and I find my background in programming and CLIs helped for queries and granting permissions n stuff.

I would guess to pick up CBT just to get the flavor for it, but Ive never seen the cbt series in SQL so I dont know if its good or not.
    Hopefully someone else can provide insight on that.
    But I would definitely recommend to download a client like workbench, dolphin or navicat and browse for some tutorials.
    meh
  • Options
    Thanks for the advice kurosaki00

No, unfortunately, I have no experience of scripting, nor programming. I've only done an MCP in Windows XP, so fairly limited as to what I can do right now, besides the Server path.
  • Options
    BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    You can get a developers edition of SQL 2008 for like 50 bucks. Then either buy the DTB (dead tree book) or download the Kindle version of "Joes to Pros". This is a great introduction to SQL and a good way to learn and get your feet wet.
  • Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    ah Bokeh reminded me
    do you have any .edu email?
    are you in college?
    Try to get IEEE student membership (its like 20 bucks a year)