Help with LAB

danstardanstar Member Posts: 136
Hi everyone,

I am not sure how this works but I am a newbie to this cisco thingy. I'm currently studying for my CCNA with some INE Video tutorials online and I am done with the OSI Model. I'm on the Routing whatever whatever now and I am not sure how this whole thing works, I just downloaded putty now and I need access to some LAB. I do not have a lab or routers as they cost a fortune. Does anyone know how to connect to a lab through putty or telnet or just how this all works because I am seriously lost and I need help. I do have passion for networking but this Routing and Sub-netting around is making it very hard. Please help. Ideas are welcomed. Thanks everyone
Preparing for CCNA Certification :study:
Up Next: CCNP
Onto the Next: CCNA Voice
And Umm: CCNP Voice

Comments

• kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    A user on here has a free lab that you can access online. He has them open to anyone who wants to use them, You can check it out here. Free Cisco Catalyst Switch Lab

Otherwise you can use Packet Tracer, or GNS3 which also allows you to connect to physical devices later on when you get around to buying some.

CCNA Labs aren't expensive though, you can pick up switches from as low as I think $35 US? Here in Aus, to buy a reasonable LAB is about $400AU which is 2 switches and 2 routers and cables.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com
  • danstardanstar Member Posts: 136
    Oh my, kj0 - you're a life saver. :D I'll try and access the lab now.. and I currently live in INDIA, working on my degree so it's kinda tough to buy those routers because of tied funds.. but I just downloaded Packet Tracer - not sure how it works but will look into it. Thanks a lot kj0.
  • inscom.brigadeinscom.brigade Member Posts: 400 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Do you have youTube in India or is it censored?