Options

800 vs 700 Series Difficulty?

windycity84windycity84 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am looking to take the A+ certification, but was wondering if anyone here knew if the 800 series is more difficult than 700 series?

From a few online articles I've read I can distinguish the differences between the two series, but not any levels of varying difficulty.
I have no experience repairing computers but I am dedicated and consider myself a quick learner.

Thanks for the help!

Comments

• Options
    BryzeyBryzey Member Posts: 260
    Difficulty would be roughly the same because its the same cert just a newer version. its still an entry level cert though so you will be fine.

If your are just starting out now go for the 800 series. The 700 series exams end in august.

800 series includes some new topics as well that would be useful to understand.
  • Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The 800 series is geared toward a tech with 1 yr and the 700 series is geared toward 6 months. The 800 series has new objectives as well as updated ones. The 800 series (compared to the 700 series) is harder but it is still an entry level exam.
  • Options
    DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    For the most part the difficulty level is the same. However, one of the significant differences between the 800 series exams and the 700 series exams is that the 800 series exams can have performance based questions but the 700 series exams never had them. If you don't know the material, these types of questions are more difficult. You usually can't just guess. This blog article talks a little about them: http://blogs.getcertifiedgetahead.com/comptia-performance-based-testing/.

Another thing to consider is when you expect to take and pass the exams. The 700 series exams expire August 31, 2013. If you haven't taken both the 701 and 702 by then, you'll have to take the 800 series exams to get the certification.
  • Options