Vsphere 4.1 to 5.0 upgrade help

slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Posts: 665Member ■■■■□□□□□□
I am upgrading from 4.1 to 5.0, I have made a brand new 5.0 Vcenter with local full SQL, databases are ready to go, I don't really care about keeping performance data or anything in the old data base really, here is my plan, wanted to post here for a critque.

1. Disable HA/DRS
2. Remove hosts from 4.1 Vcenter
3. Import hosts in to 5.0, build cluster, enable HA.
4. Maintenance mode and reload one host at a time with ESXI 5.0.

I am wondering if there is anything wrong with this plan.

Comments

  • EssendonEssendon Posts: 4,548Member ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd do the same mate. Here's a link to VMware communities > VMware Communities: Upgrading ESXi 4.1 to 5.x
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

    Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Posts: 665Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yea I am just wondering about managing 4.1 hosts with 5.0 and for a brief period having a 4.1 host with a 5.0 host in the same cluster, I am pretty sure this won't be a problem, but I've never done it before.
  • jmritenourjmritenour Posts: 565Member
    5.x can manage 4.x hosts with no problems. And they can co-exist in the same cluster, as long as the VMs are all at VM hardware level 7, and at a VMware tools level the 4.x hosts can manage. But this is intended to be a stopgap solution during the upgrade, and not something you'd want to do for an extended period.
    "Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi
  • slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Posts: 665Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    jmritenour wrote: »
    5.x can manage 4.x hosts with no problems. And they can co-exist in the same cluster, as long as the VMs are all at VM hardware level 7, and at a VMware tools level the 4.x hosts can manage. But this is intended to be a stopgap solution during the upgrade, and not something you'd want to do for an extended period.

    Understood, this is pretty much what I thought, but couldn't find documentation that spelled this out exactly, I am doing an immediate re-install of 5.0 so this sounds like it will work perfectly, thanks for the responses.
  • SouthSeaPirateSouthSeaPirate Posts: 173Member
    slinuxuzer wrote: »
    I am upgrading from 4.1 to 5.0, I have made a brand new 5.0 Vcenter with local full SQL, databases are ready to go, I don't really care about keeping performance data or anything in the old data base really, here is my plan, wanted to post here for a critque.

    1. Disable HA/DRS
    2. Remove hosts from 4.1 Vcenter
    3. Import hosts in to 5.0, build cluster, enable HA.
    4. Maintenance mode and reload one host at a time with ESXI 5.0.

    I am wondering if there is anything wrong with this plan.

    Pretty much what I did. Disabled HA and migrated all VM's off of one host. Converted host, and fired it back up. Migrated all VM's from the next host to be converted to the new one v5 host; repeated process until done. Heres our internal documentation (some will obviously be different for your environmet);
    1. Connect to vCenter with vSphere client and create main folder, configure Data Center and Cluster appropriately.
    2. Configure vCenter Server Settings
    3. Upgrade ESXi hosts from version 4 to 5 1U.
      1. Migrate any VMs on the host in question to another available host
      2. Put the host in maintenance mode
      3. Mount the ISO with the HP iLO Integrated Remote Console, then reboot
      4. Preserve VMS datastore
    4. Configure the new host with a name, IP address, DNS etc…
    5. Remove it from the old vCenter server and add it to the new one with the upgraded license key.
    6. Import the HP 3PAR VAAI Plug-in Software Package
    7. Install HP 3PAR VAAI Plug-in Software Package
    8. Scan/stage and remediate the host
    9. Exit maintenance mode
    10. Create all necessary networks\VLANs, vMotion, and NTP server
    11. Repeat steps 3-10 for each host
  • dave330idave330i Posts: 2,091Member ■■■■■■■■■■
    slinuxuzer wrote: »
    I am upgrading from 4.1 to 5.0, I have made a brand new 5.0 Vcenter with local full SQL, databases are ready to go, I don't really care about keeping performance data or anything in the old data base really, here is my plan, wanted to post here for a critque.

    1. Disable HA/DRS
    2. Remove hosts from 4.1 Vcenter
    3. Import hosts in to 5.0, build cluster, enable HA.
    4. Maintenance mode and reload one host at a time with ESXI 5.0.

    I am wondering if there is anything wrong with this plan.

    That's what I did recently (4.0/4.1 to 5.1). Also done a clean reinstall as well. The big thing is to delete the datastores and recreate them as vmfs-5.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • meadITmeadIT Posts: 581Member ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yep, if you just upgrade from vmfs3 to vmfs5, it keeps the original block size and can cause some Storage vMotion performance issues.
    CERTS: VCDX #110 / VCAP-DCA #500 (v5 & 4) / VCAP-DCD #10(v5 & 4) / VCP 5 & 4 / EMCISA / MCSE 2003 / MCTS: Vista / CCNA / CCENT / Security+ / Network+ / Project+ / CIW Database Design Specialist, Professional, Associate
  • blargoeblargoe Posts: 4,165Member ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm dong the same thing (except going from 4.1 to 5.1).
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 1/29/2018 - Passed 70-743 - MCSA 2016 Complete; 1/13/2018 - Passed 70-411 - MCSA 2012 complete
    Working on: Being a better coder, build/test/deploy automation fundamentals
    Future: Renew VCP (due 2/2019), possibly with an adjacent VCP or VCAP
Sign In or Register to comment.