Options

Books for MPLS & BGP

LamplightLamplight Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, all, I've been working for a Managed Voice & Network Provider for a few months. I'm Tier 1 in the NOC. And, we primarily use BGP & MPLS. I don't know too much about this but I'm trying to learn so I can move up. I'm working on my ICND2 at the moment.

But, are there any recommended books or anything specific to MPLS & BGP.

Thanks!
Working On: eCPPT

Comments

• Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Surprisingly, the official CCNP Route certification book explains BGP and a little of MPLS pretty good.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    If you want to get into some detail beyond the CCNP stuff check out Internet Routing Architectures and MPLS Fundamentals.

Not Cisco centric, but the JNCIA/S-M study guides from sybex are free and still very useful.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    If you want to get into some detail beyond the CCNP stuff check out Internet Routing Architectures and MPLS Fundamentals.

2 great books right there. If you only deal with MPLS from the enterprise perspective and not the service provider perspective (LDP/labels/etc) then MPLS fundamentals might go a little too in depth but the knowledge will be worth while so you have that deeper understanding instead of just referring to the MPLS network as a 'magical cloud'

Depending on the size of the BGP networks, Routing TCP/IP Vol II and BGP Design & Implementation might be worth while but they are not really beginner books for BGP. I'd start with Internet Routing Architectures like Networker mentioned.

I haven't read the JNCIA/A-M study guide so I can't speak for that one. I think I'll give it a read this weekend though.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • Options