Options

26 yr old entering Networking field. Please help!!

Hishy86Hishy86 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. First up, let me congratulate everyone on this forum for this splendid website.

A little background about myself. I am an RF/Microwave Engineer with 2 yrs of experience. Having met with a dead-end job profile/opportunity, I have been unemployed for the last 9 months.

I have now made the brave decision to change my stream and therefore require your advice.

My questions are :
1)What certifications to go for initially?
2)I am about to join a private institute with a preconceive thought of doing a CCNA + RHCSA. Is it the right move for employability?
3)Would you guys recommend adding MCSE along with CCNA or RHCSA with CCNA?

Thanks everyone in advance.

Looking forward for some replies.

Comments

• Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hello and welcome to the forum!

The first network certification for most people is probably Network+ (often referenced as N+) by CompTIA. It's a basic networking certification that is considered easy to medium in difficulty. The second step is then CCNA which is considered to be rather difficult. If you are unsure I would recommend starting with N+. It can give you a "quick win" and set you up for a streak ;)

Adding an Operating System certification to your resume is definitely a good idea. I would recommend to focus on either Linux (RHCSA / LPIC) or Microsoft so that you have a clear profile with a definite focus. If you are just getting started with Linux I would suggest looking into LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 before going for RHCSA. RHCSA requires experience and is very hands on. LPIC-1 and 2 are just multiple-choice and therefore easier. If you can pass LPIC-2 and have about two years of experience with running Linux as a server you should take on RHCSA.

Good luck on your journey.
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options