Work schedule for a CCNA Network Admin??

DeemeetriDeemeetri Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I'm currently studying for my CCNA and really want to become a Network Administrator but I figured I'd get as much info as I can before I devote everything into this. My question is what type of work schedule should I expect being a Network Admin?? Does this job require only nights like 5pm - 1am or am I going to be working like everyone else human hours 8-5??? Thank you guys in advance from reading this :)

Comments

• IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    The schedule can be all over the place and you will be on call. Depending on how big the shop is and their hours, you can be oncall 24/7 or you may be able to have weeks on and off depending on how many people are there and the oncall schedule. It's definitely a time commitment and if you're working for a big company, you'll never have *just* 8-5 Monday-Friday because any major changes to the network or modifications usually aren't done during business hours as to not disrupt productivity. The good news is that the opportunities, advancement and pay is great
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • DeemeetriDeemeetri Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thank you for the quick reply Iris :) but major changes doesn't happen often correct? it's not like I'm going to be working after hours every week right? on a different note, I've only done call center tech support and end user hardware/software support, would the CCNA be enough to open a door for me on becoming a Network Admin? or would I have to learn the System Admins aspect of it as well like Server 2008 R2, Active Directory, VPNs, etc etc?