Windows Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuring 640

jwalk33jwalk33 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am attempting to study for MS exam 70-640, I'm using Windows Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuring 640 in PDF format.

Problem 1: I cannot find exercise # 1 or exercise # 2. (What do I name the 1st server, SERVER01 ?)

Problem 2: Why doesn't this book/PDF contain step-by-step instructions for setting up the 2 servers that it says is required? (What IP configurations should I use etc...)

NOTE: I'm trying to setup the lab environment on 2 Virtualbox VMs running MS Server 08 Enterprise 32bit, is this feasible ?

Either I'm missing something here or this study material lacks some key points for absolute noobs!

Thanks,
Jwalk33

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Havent read the book mate, but go ahead and choose whatever name you want. Just remember to use the name you specified in future exercises. The book may assume some knowledge and skip some steps, once you get things going you'll be able to figure out any missing steps easily. Keep at it!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    Is this Microsoft Press? If you read through the chapter, it will take you through all the steps. It starts the chapter off with what server you need to create and what to call it, and how to create it. Then you read the chapter, and then the exercise's at the end will take you through what you just learned.

I just called my primary domain my company name, and then called the other domains companies that I have worked with.
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com
  • jwalk33jwalk33 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi guys,

I think I found out the problem, the PDF formatted version of this book I found on the internet and I think its missing certain pages.

Thanks,
    Jwalk33
    Hi again,

Problem confirmed, it was missing certain pages.

Thanks again!