Options

Need some advice on "getting my foot through the door"

jazidingjaziding Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I just joined this forum recently and this is my first post. I'm glad I stumbled upon this community and hope I can find some valuable information about the IT industry.

I'm currently finishing up my bachelors in MIS this summer and in the process of finding an internship in my related field. The problem is that as hard as it is to find a job, a lot of the places I applied to require students to have at least 1 more year in school. This pretty much makes me not qualified for many of these positions.

I really need an internship to get my foot through the door because I have no experience whatsoever. At this point people are telling me to look for a full-time because I'm graduating soon. How am I going to find a full-time with no experience? I've been sending out my resume like flyers and I feel pretty lost and demoralized at this point. I'm wondering if you guys could give me some advice on this situation.

Thanks a lot!

Comments

• Options
    docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Volunteer at a charity organization, hang out at some local technical user groups (there should be at least a few around the Bay Area, given the Silicon Valley presence here), and run your own little consulting practice for really small businesses. Having a degree and one or few IT certifications are nice, but a track record which shows your initiative and "hitting-the-ground-running" has more value on paper in my opinion.
    Hopefully-useful stuff I've written: http://kimiushida.com/bitsandpieces/articles/
  • Options
    FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do you have any certs? Just put your resume out their on a bunch of job boards (ie. dice,monster,careerbuilder etc.). Im sure you will be contacted by various companies. You can also try craigslist.
  • Options