Options

a question

which would be a easier career path network admin or dba

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    A better question would be: "What do you want to do?" Easiest route isn't the best.
  • Options
    programmer24programmer24 Banned Posts: 122
    I thought about getting into databases because I am good with sql databases but I like networking it interested me due to the fact I have basic networking knowledge. I don't have a lot of experience and I am trying to get my first it job in order to gain exp
  • Options
    pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□
    whatever path you choose, if you want to succeed or do well, it wont be easy. So take the route that you like and go from there.
  • Options
    MAPLMAPL Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Like everyone else stated, don't worry about which is the easier path. Focus more which ever you enjoy.
  • Options
    you are right I just really want to focusing on being a database administrator
  • Options
    XyroXyro Member Posts: 623
    If Database Administration is what interests you then stick with it. Nothing in life worth having has ever come easily.
  • Options
    like I said before I am good with databases I just get discouraged when people wouldn't give me a chance
  • Options
    Good choice.

On a side note, I'm actually on the same boat as you. My ultimate goal is to become a DBA for I have a passion working with databases. When I was first exposed to databases during my undergrad years (BA in Information Systems), I knew right away that I wanted to pursue a career in that field and the best way to get started was to gain some experience in IT.