Options

UCS on routers

shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
This has been around for a while, but now its official they are going to put CUCM inside of a router with contact center express. If you do voice this maybe a time to get strong with VMware and UCS in general if you haven't already.
Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related

Comments

• Options
    f0rgiv3nf0rgiv3n Member Posts: 598 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm a CUCM noob but the voice guys at work are running something off of our Cisco routers right now.. i believe it's some sort of survivable gateway so the VoIP can failover in case the WAN goes down. What do they have right now that can go into routers as far as CUCM goes and how does it differ from this news?
  • Options
    What they are running is SRST which is a very basic form of keeping the calls on site if the CUCM goes down or you loose IP connectivity between the 2 devices. If you have full blown CUCM on site you can run the full feature set of call manager and other applications running so you can ensure incase of failure that site will not be affected as much.

In the past most people would just cluster another server over the wan for large sites as SRST just isn't enough to provide services when you are a large site 300+ users. Also any critical site if they had a failure it could be catastrophic for the company. I worked with a pretty large firm not so long ago where they had a branch office in Brazil that cook care of the money for all of south america. This site lost its phones a week before year end taxes and it took them 4 or 5 days to restore services. The late cost in taxes were more than 10x the cost of a call manager on site with redundant WAN connections. But as usual in business we also have enough time and money to do it over, but never enough time and money to do it right the first time.
    Currently Reading