How do you go about explaining to your friends,family and significant others what you

NyblizzardNyblizzard Member Posts: 332 ■■■■□□□□□□
do for a living? Do you just say "I'm in IT", or do you go specifically in "IT Support, Networking, Programming" or do you go all out and explain concepts you work with in which people will never fully grasp but take advantage of every day of their lives icon_surprised.gif
O
/|\
/ \

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I just say i'm in IT and if they ask what I do, then I get into details lol
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • RanMicRanMic Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I just say IT. Then if they ask specifics, then I elaborate. Not to be mean but most of them wouldn’t understand it anyway.....or not care.
  • JasonITJasonIT Member Posts: 114
    I work for a telecom/ISP company, my parents tell everyone I work for the phone company or I am a "phone man". I am a network engineer who rarely ever touches a phone ;) I always just say IT.
  • TrifidwTrifidw Member Posts: 281
    If you say you work in IT you get asked to fix peoples PC.
    If you say you manage phone systems people ask you to look at their land lines

I say IT Comms...
  • shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    I usually just say IT. When people ask specifically I'll got into slight more detail. But I pretty much just say I turn nerd nobs all day.
    Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related
  • BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    REMOVED UNNECESSARY QUOTED REPLY FROM PREVIOUS POST

Thats my next t-shirt - I turn nerd nobs all day.
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I drive a garbage truck. Generally, no one is going to seek free advice from the guy that drives a garbage truck.
    IT guy since 12/00