Options

Major Topics for CCNA Composite Exam

BobNakamuraBobNakamura Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody

I am new to this forum. I was browsing the internet and found this place by luck. :)

Anyhow, I have my CCNA exam scheduled this week, and I was wondering what the major topics that the CCNA exam will cover? I am also a Cisco Networking Academy student, hence I am wondering if I am prepared for this exam, since from what I heard in the past, Cisco Networking Academy students are not well prepared (it might be rumors, but I'm not too sure about that). Lastly, are there packet tracer labs during the CCNA Exam?

If there is a similar topic posted already, I apologize for the duplicate post.
Goals for 2013
- Get into a Computer Engineering program for university [✓]
- Earn my CCNA Certification [✓]
- Earn my CompTIA A+ Certification [ ]
And then I will decide what to do from there...

Comments

• Options
    Patel128Patel128 Member Posts: 339
    Studying For:
    B.S. in Computer Science at University of Memphis
    Network+
    Currently Reading:
    CompTIA Network+ Study Guide - Lammle
  • Options
    Hatch1921Hatch1921 Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
    HI Bob,

I went through the NetAcad as well and I can tell you.... IMO it was not enough to get me through the exam. Not to freak you out or anything... each program is different... each school is different. We hit the main topics in class... but it was such a compressed schedule, I felt we glazed over a lot of things I encountered on the exam. I can't discuss what is on the exam in detail. I can tell you there is a possibility you will see drag-n-drop questions where you match terms to the definitions. Also, Cisco has Sims or Simlets where you are given a task and you have to complete the task in a series of steps per their requirements. Know how to subnet fast... you have 90 min for the test. To answer your question about Packet Tracer... no... you will not see it on the exam.