802.1x For Windows Login Authentication

ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hello,

So, its been a while since I've looked into my CCNA notes, but my boss asked me about what I believe to be 802.1x...

We currently have no Wi-fi set up at our head quarters (I know I know)

They have been doing survey's and everything and we had a meeting and they were mentioning ways to make it easier for the users to connect to the wireless network we will have, and I suggested 802.1x and WPA2-Enterprise....

It has been a while since i've looked over my wireless networking material, I've been focusing on M$ for last 6 months, but I am planning on doing research and giving him the blue print on how to do it (Good chance to have this be a project under my belt)

Just making sure that 802.1x is what I am referring to... when a user logins in to the domain, that same user name and password is authenticated through the radius server that has the ability to query AD/LDAP for credentials correct?

Comments

• ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Yes.

You can push all of the 802.1x settings out through a GPO and have it be completely transparent to the users also. If they log in with an AD account, they are on the wireless.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Zart pretty much covered it for you. GPO for sure to handle seamless client authentication to the WLAN.

I finished a wireless project recently and while I am not a "Wireless" Engineer, it wasn't so bad but definitely lots of little details I would never have known had I not gone through it.

Throw ISE on top of it and it gets even more crazy.
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the