Options

I finally landed an interview for a IT job but I need some help!

hamlin69hamlin69 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

After months and months of applying to jobs I finally got an interview for a PC/Network tech at an elementary school. Currently I am an accountant but have my A+ and am studying for my CCNA. I literally have no professional experience. I am scared as hell right now. Getting this job would be everything to me. When I talked to the woman on the phone she said there will be an interview for 30 mins and then 30 minutes of tasks I will have to complete. I didn't lie on the resume, I told them I have 0 professional experience but told them what I did know so when I got the call for an interview I was shocked. What do I do? I don't know if I can answer all of the questions, I am about 1/4 done the CCNA studying. The interview is on friday at 1pm....

Comments

• Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Well what does it say in the job description? What technologies will you be working with? I would study those technologies, review interview questions for them as well, and finally....just be yourself. Even if it doesn't work out, it's your first IT interview and you will get another one. Keep working on the CCNA! That will be a nice addition to your resume.
  • Options
    I don't remember, I had the job application and lost it. I applied probably 2 months ago and just got a call now. This job would mean so much to me but because I think of it like that it makes me terrified to go to the interview!
  • Options
    coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Don't be terrified just go in and be yourself, most of continue to be honest. Give them a reason to hire you based on your strong points and don't worry about the weak points. Blessings on the journey.
    WGU BS - Network Operations and Security
    Completion Date: May 2021
  • Options
    coreyb80 wrote: »