Options

Network+ before 70-642??

TheCudderTheCudder Member Posts: 147 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have 5 years experience in Desktop Support, and 1.5 years of help desk prior to that. I currently hold Sec+ & A+ certs. Looking to get back into studying for MCSA (MCITP: SA) 2008 after taking break a yr ago lol. I originally started studying for the 70-640 first but it just seemed like so much to take in with out having any real SA experience. So I'm thinking I might go with 642 first, but I was wondering would it be better to go do Net+ first?
B.S. Information Technology Management | CompTIA A+ | CompTIA Security+ | Graduate Certificate in Information Assurance (In Progress)

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you want the SA then I would go for 642
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    The 70-642 will be more Microsoft-centric than the vendor neutral Network+. The N+ will give you a good background for topics covered on the 70-642 but it's definitely not required...FWIW I'm working on the 70-642 right now icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    flash27flash27 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
    LoL I thought it was me who posted this. I have four years of Help Desk experience with A+ and Sec+. But I really have networking experience. I am studying for Net+ now and hoping to take it some time next month and pass it.
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Sitting the actual test would be a TOTAL waste of time and money IMO. It's an entry level cert and you aint entry level. Maybe read up TechNet and Wikipedia or something and that'll get you more knowledge than studying for N+ would. Go straight to the 642 or whichever MS cert you prefer.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    ahphotoahphoto Member Posts: 103
    TheCudder wrote: »