Options

Advice

UnoriginalUnoriginal Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone at TE,

Ive been reading the forums here for a while now kinda in the background. This is my first post and looking for some advice as I'm starting to get frustrated.

Wondering what path you would take or advise me to take for someone in my situation. I have a A.S. degree in Information Technology, emphasis on networking. Ive never taken a cert test or studied for them. I almost feel cheated from my college experience as that was never a push or even relevant in classes. Any-who, Ive been working for 2 years now as an assistant to the network administrator in a small to mid size business. My main job function is desktop support for the end users, but have gotten experience with basic networking, vpn's, messing around with AD, Ou's etc. Personally Ive learned more here in two years then I ever learned in college. I'm trying to find a job closer to my loved ones and having a hard time even landing an interview and I'm blaming it on my lack of education and certifications. I feel the knowledge is there... Just not the resume builders.

Do you guys feel that it would be wise to start at the bottom with an A+ cert first? Or try to skip that and move toward other certs. I don't know how accurate the mock tests are here, I did well on the A+ test (here) without any studying and just kinda winging it.

Also, Im undecided about what path I'd like to go in the IT world.... Im finding it difficult to find a "passion" if that makes sense and is becoming frustrating. My ideal job would be some sort of remote work. I grew up on a ranch in a very rural area and unfortunately that is not exactly the best place to find work. I'd like to return to the country which limits my options.

Any advice, Insight or just comments are appreciate. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    pseudopseudo Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□