CCNA Security lab kit. yes or no?

ch1vasch1vas Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

atm I'm studying for my ICND2. After I want to attack the CCNA security. Would recommend a lab kit or can I still do most of it with software like Cisco Packet Tracer? The reason why I'm already need to know is, so I can start saving money for it and start checking Ebay and co. for bargains.

Any suggestions what hardware the lab should contain?

Oh and since I'm already posting, why should one go for the CCNA security and not straight for the CCNP security as CCNA security doesn't seem to be a prerequisite for the CCNP security?

Thanks!
Goal 2013: CCENT (x); CCNA(x); Security+(x); ITIL Foundation ( )

Comments

• DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Packet tracer will work for most of the CCNA Security but it does not have the ASA. You will need the IOS security on whatever router you buy. For Zone base firewalls and VPN's. The ASA is what going to cost you the most.
    From the Cisco site;

[TH]CCNP Security Prerequisite
    [/TH]

CCNA Security or valid CCSP or any CCIE certification can act as a prerequisite.

• jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I strongly suggest you give GNS3 a try for your CCNAS studies. It does have ASA emulation and can interface with either your host machine or virtual machines for CCP integration as well.
  • ch1vasch1vas Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    DCD wrote: »
    Packet tracer will work for most of the CCNA Security but it does not have the ASA. You will need the IOS security on whatever router you buy. For Zone base firewalls and VPN's. The ASA is what going to cost you the most.
    From the Cisco site;

[TH]CCNP Security Prerequisite[/TH]

CCNA Security or valid CCSP or any CCIE certification can act as a prerequisite.

That must have changed. Cisco now states:
    Valid Cisco CCNA Security certification or valid Cisco CCNA certification plus the SND exam pass can act as a prerequisite.