After RHCE ?

a80ba80b Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I have around 3 years experience in Windows Administration and about 1 year in Risk and Compliance. I was always interested in the Linux field and finally have the opportunity to do so. I have been using Linux as my personal OS for a number of years now and am quite comfortable with it.

Im currently studying for RHCE - Hope to clear the exam by May 2013 end. My question is .... What next ? I am good with scripting, know a fair bit of SQL and Java. Should I go for a datacenter certification ? If so, what choices do I have ? I have also dabbled in virtualization (knowledge being close to zero) - but I am a good learner. What cert would complement RHCE in Virtualization or datacenter ?

Also hows Hadoop big data ? Will that be a Total change from my background ?

Anand
Goal: RHCSA >> Due: 6/2013 >> Progress: Basics done.
Goal: RHCE >> Due: 7/2013 >> Progress: Not Yet Started.
Goal: CEH >> Due: 9/2013 >> Progress: Basics done

Gig: AMD 1.8GHz, 4 GB Ram, 40GB HDD, DVD Writer.

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    As a note, I believe the RHCSA is a requirement prior to RHCE.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Honestly, if you're going for a datacenter or virtualization cert, you might get more bang for your buck going for the VCP-DV certification after you knock out your RHCE, and save the Red Hat specialty for when it's time to renew or upgrade. It will be another high-profile cert to have on your resume, right along with the RHCE, and you'll training on one of the most commonly-used virtualization technologies out there. As a systems administrator/engineer - whether it's working with *NIX or Microsoft systems - the VCP is a great "partner" to a sysadmin cert like the RHCE (or, in my case, the MCSE,) certification.

As for Hadoop big data, I couldn't tell you. That's a whole different beast from my world. icon_lol.gif

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn