Options

Upcoming Job Interview

crip1087crip1087 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello! I have a job interview coming up for a ISP Tech Support job and I wanted to know if anyone has any advice for me?

It pretty much came as a suprise since my resume was somewhat terrible in my opinion and I am only 17 years old but hey, I have nothing to lose right?? I'm kinda wishing I would get this job cause I really need it to help pay for college which my current major is Computer Science, I have only passed the A+ Hardware exam and plan to take the A+ OS exam within 2 weeks to complete the certification. I have a high school diploma and took a A+ class and a CCNA class in my high school(Its one of the only schools I know about to actually teach classes like this in high school)

So anyone got any advice for a young unexperienced person like me? This isn't my first interview but it is my first IT interview, so what should I expect to be asked?

Comments

• Options
    filkenjitsufilkenjitsu Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You wil be ok. I did Techsupport at an ISP. Here is what you will do on a daily basis GUARANTEED:

Help customers setup Outlook Express (80% time) or Outlook (20% time) to recieve POP3 and send SMTP mail and also troubleshoot sending and recieveing mail inside of those programs. So you could practice all the settings under Outlook express and Outlook at home under the accounts tab. Know what all of the setting in there do. One thing most ISP's do now is Authenticate on outgoing port 25, so know how to setup a username and password authentication inside of Outlook and Outlook express (both easy) for outgoing SMTP mail.