Options

Applying internally at a new company?

Just curious what everyone's opinion is on applying for another position within the same company I just started at. A little background: I am an Operations Analyst and started in early Nov (About 5 months on the job). Our company has a soft policy regarding moves internally where one year is required before you can apply for positions. This policy can be overlooked if the hiring manager, current manager, and department manager give approval. This is a smaller company but positions are rare for the Deskside group.

Do you guys think it would look bad to put my name into the application pool or would it be okay? This question is strictly about company politics and all other considerations (experience) are not a factor, just assume I meet the qualifications. I have confidence my boss would be okay with letting me move to another group as he is the kind of person who strives to ensure everyone succeeds.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    BigMevyBigMevy Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It couldn't hurt to put your hat in. Typically those policies are in place more or less to protect the original manager and position, the idea being that you need someone to fill the position for a certain amount of time to make it worthwhile. Particularly if the position requires a lot of OJT to get up to speed.

By showing your interest, you at least demonstrate your ambition to learn and grow. The worse thing that could happen is your manager says no because they don't want to re-fill your current role. I doubt anyone would get terribly upset over it though.

My 2 bits anyway.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd speak to your boss about it first.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    cruwlcruwl Member Posts: 341 ■■□□□□□□□□