Options

Security+ or Project+ That is the question...

RobbLawsonRobbLawson Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I'm Robb and I'm new here. I've been working in the IT industry since 1996 in several roles: Consultant, Engineer, Administrator and Desktop Support. I've got a Bachelor of Science in Information Technology and several certifications including CCNA, CCENT, Network+ and A+. I've got an opportunity to gain an additional certification and am looking for some direction. I'm currently between jobs (read unemployed) and really do like hands on type of work. Which certification do you think would be most useful to me; Security+ or Project+. I've seen a lot of Project Management jobs out there but most want PMP certification. On the other hand, I've seen a lot of Security jobs out there as well but wonder if Security+ os worth the effort. Your input will be greatly appreciated.

Robb

Comments

• Options
    thegoodbyethegoodbye Member Posts: 94 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Security+ will be more highly sought after.
  • Options
    RobbLawsonRobbLawson Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for your input. I've been leaning that way but am looking for opinions.
  • Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I'm currently studying for Sec+ and alot of the information seems super interesting to me. Though it isnt as hands on as a CCNA, it does hold its weight.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Security+ is the easy pick. Project+ has basically no market value. If you are looking for a broad intro to project management practices, it's okay.

Security+ is still a fairly broad intro to high-level security, but it can definitely be valuable both for hands-on and more high-level work.