Options

Need Advice - At a Critical Point - Do I CCNP or Not?

Alexf302Alexf302 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm looking for some advice from those with experience in the industry and/or from those who may have been in a similar situation to the one that I'm in currently.

To be as brief as possible, I worked in IT professionally from 1998-2004. Since then I found myself on a different career path that has taken me out of professional IT pretty much entirely.

I'm fortunate to be working for a good company in a stable position, but I really miss IT and the opportunities that it offered, so I've recently been looking at what sort of jobs are out there. To help counteract my lack of current experience, I decided to study for the CCNA, which I passed last spring. This has been helpful in gaining the interest of prospective employers. However, the jobs available for a CCNA + no recent experience are generally pretty entry-level in my area (Philadelphia, PA region).

I simply can't afford a job in that category. To be frank, for me to leave my current position I would require a permanent position with benefits, and a salary of no less than $68,000. Certainly the entry level stuff is not at that level. Hence, I've been giving thought to going for the CCNP, but being as it's quite a different animal from the CCNA, I have some concerns:
  • The CCNA was a large and difficult time commitment. Working full-time, and having several responsibilities at home made it challenging to study consistently. Wouldn't the CCNP require a far greater time commitment?
  • I don't work with Cisco or any networking technology at my job. This was manageable with the CCNA, but if I'm not living and breathing Cisco during the day, is the CCNP going to be just too darn difficult to grasp without supreme levels of studying?